Profiles allow you to maintain separate groups of settings. Changing a setting will only change it for the active profile and not for any others.

General Settings

  • ToolBar
    • New
    • Create a new Profile.

      A Profile stores its very own settings, so you can have multiple profiles that do entirely different things without interferring with each other.

    • Rename
    • Renames the selected Profile. Each Profile must have a unique name; you'll be prompted to change the name otherwise.

    • Remove
    • Removes the selected Profiles.

      Warning

      Removing a Profile will remove it from the list and delete it from disk. It will be deleted to the system's recycle bin; in order to restore it, you'll have to restore it yourself by right-clicking on the file in the recycle bin and selecting the Restore menu item.


    • Import
    • Imports a previously-exported Profile from disk.

      Warning

      If you are importing a Profile from another user, please ensure you check over all settings prior to running the Profile to ensure it isn't going to do something you do not want it to do!


    • Export
    • Exports the selected Profile out to disk.

      If you want to share a Profile, you should export it first.

      For Technical Users

      An exported Profile will be in JSON format and will have its ("prettifying") formatting removed to help reduce its filesize. You should always Export a Profile if you would like to share it with other users; they can then Import it into their FileSieve 4 installation.

      An Imported Profile is always checked to ensure conformance; if the file is corrupted, then FileSieve will give an error and the file won't be imported.


    • Clean
    • Removes settings for any Method or Modifiers that are not currently active, potentially reducing the size of the selected Profile and resetting those Method/Modifier settings back to their defaults.

      For Technical Users

      When a Method or Modifier is selected within their respective editor, FileSieve creates default settings for that Method/Modifier and saves them to the active Profile; this allows settings to be maintained for a Method/Modifier even when they aren't active.

      The side effect of this is that the Profile may contain settings that aren't being used (due to the Method/Modifier not being active) and could be removed. The main reason for this Cleaning procedure being introduced is due to the Classification Method potentially introducing a lot of data into the Profile. While this is miniscule in the scheme of things, it still increases the size of a typical Profile from 3KB to 60KB.

  • Profiles List
  • The list of created profiles. Unchecking (removing the tick) from a profile will hide it from the profiles list within the main window.

    Tip

    Multiple profiles can have their mode changed at the same time (using the arrow keys or the mouse, and the Shift/Control keys); select more than one profile and then enable/disable the Modes checkboxes as required.

  • Allowed Modes
  • For safety purposes, allowed modes can be set on a per-profile basis. For example, if there's a profile that absolutely must not move any of its processed items - for whatever reason - the Move mode below can be unchecked. Doing so will prevent the Move mode from being selectable when processing the profile.

    • Simulate
    • Enable or disable item simulation.

      This allows the simulation of items being copied/moved and the results are displayed in a list. This does not actually perform any copying, moving, deleting, or modification of any kind to the system and is highly recommended to be used as a test run to ensure the results are what you expect.

    • Copy
    • Enable or disable item copying.

      This allows the source items to be copied to their destination.

    • Move
    • Enable or disable item moving.

      This allows the source items to be moved to their destination. This is essentially copies the items and then deletes the original (Source) items from disk.

    • Delete
    • Enable or disable item deletion.

      Enabling this option will cause FileSieve to delete any items that match the currently-active Method.

      Enabling the Delete to Recycle Bin option will delete any matched items to the Recycle Bin as opposed to deleting them outright from disk. Please be aware that Windows will outright delete any files that cannot fit within the user/admin-imposed Recycle Bin size limit, if any.

      Warning

      It should go without saying that this mode is dangerous, and should only be enabled once you've ran a Simulation mode and inspected the results to ensure that the items you want removed are shown.

      Enabling the Delete to Recycle Bin option is highly recommended.

  • Conditions
  • Conditions are used for determining whether a Profile should be allowed to run or not; a Profile can only run if it meets all set Conditions.

    Notice

    Please note that Conditions are only taken into account for automated actions such as Triggers and Jobs; manually processing a Profile will ignore any Conditionals that may have been set.


    • A network connection is present
    • Determines whether the computer is connected to a network.

  • Run Applications Before/After Processing
  • Before processing begins or after processing has concluded, an application can be run (for whatever purpose); specify the application(s) within the textbox(es). Leave the textbox(es) blank to not run anything.

Keyboard Shortcuts

Unless stated otherwise, these keyboard shortcuts are global to the entire window; pressing them regardless of which control is active will cause them to trigger.

  • F1, Help
  • Displays this page of the documentation.

  • Ctrl+N
  • Adds a new Profile to the list.

    This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the New toolbar button.

    Tip for Technical Users

    There needs to be at least one character that isn't considered an OS-invalid character within the new Profile's name.
    These invalid characters are: / \ | ? * < >

    The reason for the having at least one OS-valid character is that the Profile name is cleaned from any invalid characters and then saved to the filesystem using that cleaned name as the filename. The Profile's name itself will still contain all of the characters, regardless of them being invalid or not.


  • Ctrl+R
  • This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the Rename toolbar button.

  • Ctrl+E
  • This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the Remove toolbar button.

  • Ctrl+I
  • This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the Import toolbar button.

  • Ctrl+E
  • This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the Export toolbar button.

  • Ctrl+S, Alt+S
  • These are the keyboard equivalents of clicking on the Simulate checkbox.

  • Ctrl+C, Alt+C
  • These are the keyboard equivalents of clicking on the Copy checkbox.

  • Ctrl+M, Alt+M
  • These are the keyboard equivalents of clicking on the Move checkbox.

  • Ctrl+D, Alt+D
  • These are the keyboard equivalents of clicking on the Delete checkbox.

  • F12
  • This is the keyboard equivalent of clicking on the Close button.